Facebook Hijacking

There are a lot of Facebook scams going on today, such as Catalog Stalkers, Stop Dangerous Attacks, etc.  If someone posts this to your Facebook page DO NOT CLICK ON IT.  For it is a scam and will hijack your Facebook account.  Your best bet is to click on the X in the top right hand corner of the post and select Remove or Block the specific app that is posting to your wall.

Now if you have already been hijacked, here are a few steps to follow.  The first thing I would do is remove the app from your profile, you can do so with the following steps.

  1. Login to Facebook and click on the Account button in the top right and corner of the screen select Privacy Settings
  2. In the bottom left hand corner of the screen there is Apps and Websites, select Edit your Settings
  3. Under Apps you use, select Edit Settings
  4. Any app in here, especially the one sending wall posts to your friends, click on the X and remove it completely

Once all that is done, the next trick I would try is to change your Facebook password, in case they have it down and try to access your account again.  Also remove any posts on your wall and block the applications from others that may try to post to your wall, this way we can try and keep our other friends from making the same mistake.  So good luck out there, hopefully Facebook will catch on and these posts will quiet down for a while.